Picture Book Awards

For parents who are looking for most suitable picture books for their kids, you can make a reference to the international picture book awards. 7 major international picture books awards are:

1、The Caldecott Medal (美國凱迪克獎)

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

The committee that decides on the Caldecott Award winner comprises fifteen members. Eight are elected by the entire ALSC membership and seven including the chairperson are appointed by the ALSC President. Many publishers send copies of books to the committee; 2009 members each received more than 700. To help identify possible contenders, the chairperson generally asks for committee members to identify strong contenders each month. In the fall each member of the committee may formally nominate seven books. Publications late in the year should receive equal consideration. As of 2009/2010 each committee member must nominate three and no more books in October, two in November, two in December, and January identification of worthy December publications is solicited.

2、The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal (英國凱特格林威獎)

The UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards, the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medals is awarded annually by school librarians. Often described by authors and illustrators as 'the one they want to win' - they are the gold standard in children's literature.

It was established in 1955 and is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs. Since 2000, the winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal has also been awarded the £5000 Colin Mears Award. Colin Mears, a Worthing based accountant and children's book collector, left a bequest providing every Greenaway winner with a cash award as well as the coveted Medal.
Previous winners include Raymond Briggs, Helen Oxenbury, Shirley Hughes, Lauren Child, Anthony Browne, Quentin Blake and Emily Gravett.

3、Hans Christian Andersen Awards (国际安徒生奖画家奖)

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Every other year International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) presents the Andersen Award to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.
The Author's Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator's Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress.

The Patron of the Andersen Awards is Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark and the Awards are sponsored by Nami Island Inc. Nominations for the Andersen Award are made by the National Sections of IBBY and the recipients are selected by a distinguished international jury of children's literature specialists.

4、Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis / German Youth Literature Prize (德国绘本大奖)

The Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis (German Youth Literature Prize) is an annual award established in 1956 by the Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth to recognise outstanding works of children's literature. It is Germany's only state-funded literary award.  In the past, authors from many countries have been recognised, including non-German speakers.

The award is organized by the Arbeitskreis für Jugendliteratur, also called AKJ or Association for Children's and Youth Literature, which receives financial support, including prize money, from the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth.
Awards are given in five categories: Best Picture Book, Best Children's Book, Best Youth Book, Best Non-Fiction Book and Choice of the Youth Jury. Up to six nominations in each category are announced in March at the Leipzig Book Fair, and the awards are presented during the Frankfurt Book Fair by the Federal Minister of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth. In each category, the winning author receives an 8000 euro cash prize, and a bronze statuette designed by Detlef Kraft representing Momo from the novel by Michael Ende.

5、Bologna Children's Book Fair (義大利波隆那國際兒童書展)

Since 1963 the Bologna Children's Book Fair has been a leading international event for publishers. It really is the "place-to-be" for selling rights.

In Bologna authors, illustrators, literary agents, licensors and licensees, packagers, distributors, printers, booksellers, and librarians meet to sell and buy copyright, find the very best of children’s publishing and multimedia production, generate and gather new contacts while strengthening professional relationships, discover new business opportunities, discuss and debate the latest sector trends.

The Children’s Book Fair hosts, in Bologna, journalists selected from among the most important news outlets in the world. Each year, more than 600 journalists representing 70 countries from all over the world report on the event.
Information regarding the Children’s Book Fair and its initiatives, pre-registration notwithstanding, are sent worldwide at the right moment to an extensive list of qualified exhibitors that are carefully selected and continually updated.
Each year, the Fair plays host to a number of exhibitors coming from countries of major interest for the development of new markets.

6、New York Times Best Illustrated Books Awards (紐約時報最佳童書)

Every year since 1952, the Book Review has asked a panel of judges to make a selection of ten books to be honored from among the several thousand illustrated children's books published that year.

7、Notable Children’s Books (美國圖書館協會優良圖書推薦)

Each year a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books. According to the Notables Criteria, "notable" is defined as: Worthy of note or notice, important, distinguished, outstanding. As applied to children's books, notable should be thought to include books of especially commendable quality, books that exhibit venturesome creativity, and books of fiction, information, poetry and pictures for all age levels (birth through age 14) that reflect and encourage children's interests in exemplary ways.